Painting with Light…

to help YOU find the magic behind each passing moment.

New Year*s Getaway | Charlottesville, Virginia Photographer

“Get thee to the mountaintop.” { Picture Heavy Post } 

charlottesville, virginia, iphone 5s, iphoneography, bed and breakfast, coffee, snow, winter, small town charm, wine, eppies, whole foods, portland coffee, yoga, ACAC

Okay, so maybe that’s a play on words, but when you feel depleted of energy from all your jobs and yearn for a few quiet solo days to unwind and figure life out, a solo out-of-town sojourn is the perfect solution. After hours of research, I decided to go down to the charming Charlottesville, Virginia area for a personal “New Years Getaway”. I booked a LivingSocial deal a few weeks prior and BAM, I was on my way. { I later found out WHY the B&B I stayed in was on Living Social and though it was a nuisance, I couldn’t let that spoil my trip… }

charlottesville, virginia, iphone 5s, iphoneography, bed and breakfast, coffee, snow, winter, small town charm, wine, eppies, whole foods, portland coffee, yoga, ACACCharlottesville (or C’ville, as locals call her) is special to me, not only as a thriving and culturally aware small town in Central Virginia that I’ve visited on numerous occasions, but also the location where… back in February 2011… I launched the first version of the Laurentina Photography website. I love exploring this town and always come up with brilliant ideas when I’m down here. Hense why I keep coming back… 

charlottesville, virginia, iphone 5s, iphoneography, bed and breakfast, coffee, snow, winter, small town charm, wine, eppies, whole foods, portland coffee, yoga, ACAC

After partying on New Years Eve at a friend’s house and running the New Year’s Day 5K with my running buddies, I packed my bags and drove down to Central VA. My main goal for this trip was to finish reading the e-book I gifted to myself over Thanksgiving weekend, entitled Worth More by one of my favorite photography coaches: Angela Pointon. Thanks to the peace and quiet of my trip, in addition to the religious using of my Believe I Am training journal, I was able to finish the book, do some ample reflection and plan my business goals for 2014 — many of which were influenced by the exercises she had us hammer out in the book!

2014-02-07_001 copy 2014-01-30_004 copyOne good perk about staying at this B&B (located 25 minutes from the C’ville Downtown Mall) was the easy accessibility to all the wineries. I was also given free wine tasting tickets and went for a tasting at Barboursville Vineyards. The tasting was amazing and I had no idea it was owned by an Italian family who was responsible for bringing the establishment of vineyards to our great state! They even send all the staff members of the on site restaurant (Palladio) to Verona each year for som serious culinary training. I brought home a few bottles and can’t wait to go back for more. European grapes can survive in Virginia! 

I also enjoyed the following C’ville “traditions” that I have evolved as my must-do’s for each trip:

– A pot of Tea and light fare at the Twisted Branch Tea Bazaar

– Southern comfort food at Eppie’s

– A visit to Bodo’s Bagels to stock up on Bagels

– Exploring eclectic boutiques along the Downtown Mall

2014-01-30_005 copy 2014-02-06_001 copyIn addition, I also made a couple new discoveries and enjoyed the following activities during my trip down to C’ville:

– Doing my shakeout run through the neighborhoods that surround the Downtown Mall (that was week #3 & #4 of marathon training, aka. before I started crying — just kidding, not really.)

– Getting green juice and gourmet donuts (yes! you read that correctly) at The Juice Laundry

– Visioning and goal setting at a Portland-hip coffeehaus Milli Joe

**and last but not least… dropping in on a yoga/Alexander Technique class with my first yoga teacher from my grad school days in DC, the lovely Gina Davis Kelley! It was so fun to see her after so many years and wonderful to get some stretching + more relaxation in during the mini vacation! And for those wondering? She’s only gotten better as a teacher!

2014-01-30_006 copy

All in all, this trip was very successful and I came back to chilly temps (the start of the polar vortex) and heaping piles of snow! I can’t wait to plan my next trip to UVA land when the weather is warmer and experience all that the mountain hippies of C’ville have to offer! Yes, I secretly want to be one of them as well. 

#YOLO 2014 – I am READY.

Leave a Reply

National Association of Professional Child Photographers Member 2013

Professional Photographers of America Member 2013

Keep in Touch!

CONTACT

Phone: 240.491.7749
HOURS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
