Painting with Light…

to help YOU find the magic behind each passing moment.

Will you be my Bridesmaid? | Northern Virginia Bridal Photographer

A couple of days ago, I posted a blog preview photo for this post. Like many of you, I *love* surprises and aside from blogging about the latest client photos, like sharing tidbits of my personal life with you all as well. I love connecting with everyone on a personal level through the blogosphere and experiencing the journey of life together. So? Here goes…

bridesmaid, proposal, box, vintage, modern vintage, michaels, DIY, dried flower, magenta, lace, old fashioned, key, wooden box, earth tones, message in a box, rolled up message, wedding photography, northern virginia wedding photographer, will you be my bridesmaid, couture

On a cold { nearly polar vortex } January day, I said YES. One of my best friends of 10 years, Kaity, presented me with a little wooden box, wrapped in white lace. She confirmed that it wasn’t a Christmas present (since we had decided to give the gift of time instead of material possessions).

Intrigued, I opened it and carefully unwrapped the little note inside…

bridesmaid, proposal, box, vintage, modern vintage, michaels, DIY, dried flower, magenta, lace, old fashioned, key, wooden box, earth tones, message in a box, rolled up message, wedding photography, northern virginia wedding photographer, will you be my bridesmaid, couture

It was a beautifully written note in the form of a riddle… with “key” being the main word… with a very important question popping out at the very end:

Will you be my Bridesmaid? 

Without thinking twice, my face lit up and with the biggest grin, I responded an astounding *YES* and gave Kaity a big hug!

YES. YES. Y-E-S!!

And so today, I am writing this post not only to showcase such a creative DIY Bridesmaid proposal that will have Pinterest swooning in no time, but to also reminisce on Kaity and my friendship over the last 10 years. Since it’s #throwbackthursday, I’ll even include a few of my favorite snapshot of us over the years…

friendship never ends

Kaity and I met in the Fall of 2003 while I was visiting mutual friends at our college’s Philadelphia campus. We hung out and did fun & artsy things in the city when I came the following year for an urban immersion semester. After graduation, we worked at the same art museum in DC while figuring out what to do with our youthful lives.

For a few years, we lived apart… across oceans and continents… but always managed to keep in touch: whether it was via email, snail mail or the occasional *random stuff* package (not to mention the best “songs for this season of life” CDs). We would always try to visit each other while back in town… and catch up on life’s latest adventures over fine wines, ethnic food or a road trip.

2014-02-13_001 copy

Kaity is someone who is loving, encouraging and very compassionate. She has a heart for the oppressed and a passion for social justice on both a local and international level. We have supported each other through the good, bad and the very ugly… and depend on each others’ strength and courage to really push through our comfort zones in life. Kaity challenges me to be the *best version of myself* and has also been gracious enough to put up with my wanderlust, just jump, Italianista spirit! We also discovered our love for running around the same time and had the opportunity to participate in last year’s Broad Street Run in Philadelphia together!

bridesmaid, proposal, box, vintage, modern vintage, michaels, DIY, dried flower, magenta, lace, old fashioned, key, wooden box, earth tones, message in a box, rolled up message, wedding photography, northern virginia wedding photographer, will you be my bridesmaid, couture

Last fall, I also had the opportunity to take engagement pictures for Kaity and John in Philly as well! I can’t wait to share those photos with you in the coming posts…

Simply put… Kaity… I am SO thrilled that you are marrying your soulmate (who is awesome as well) and SO VERY HONORED to be your Bridesmaid! I can’t wait to see what the next few months will bring…

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”

― C.S. Lewis

bridesmaid, proposal, box, vintage, modern vintage, michaels, DIY, dried flower, magenta, lace, old fashioned, key, wooden box, earth tones, message in a box, rolled up message, wedding photography, northern virginia wedding photographer, will you be my bridesmaid, couture

4 comments on “Will you be my Bridesmaid? | Northern Virginia Bridal Photographer

  1. dEstInEdnOmAd
    February 14, 2014

    beautiful…

    • laurentinaphotography
      February 15, 2014

      Thanks Charisma! Writing this brought back fond memories of us hanging out in your MCPC dorm back in 2003… thanks for introducing me to this awesome girl, who is tying the knot this fall! ❤

  2. Pingback: Kaity & Jonathan | Philadelphia Engagement Photography | { Part 1 } : A Penn’s Landing Proposal! | Painting with Light...

  3. Pingback: Kaity & Jonathan | Philadelphia Engagement Photography | { Part 1 } : A Penn’s Landing Proposal! » My Blog / Website

Leave a Reply

National Association of Professional Child Photographers Member 2013

Professional Photographers of America Member 2013

Keep in Touch!

CONTACT

Phone: 240.491.7749
HOURS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
